Saga: Volume One {Spoiler Free Review}

Saga: Volume One
Brian Vaughan and Fiona Staples

15704307Published by Image Comics
Type: Graphic Novel
Pages: 160
Rating: ♥︎ ♥︎ ♥︎ ♥︎ ♥︎

Summary from Goodreads:
When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe.

From bestselling writer Brian K. Vaughan, Saga is the sweeping tale of one young family fighting to find their place in the worlds. Fantasy and science fiction are wed like never before in this sexy, subversive drama for adults.

My rating:
I’m going to get right into it, this graphic novel was amazing! I read it in a little over an hour and flew through it because it was that good. The characters were heartwarming, the humor was fantastic, and the tone of the characters was so realistic that the banter between them made me feel like I was there in this graphic novel myself. Saga, Volume One was just literally so good that I wasn’t even in the last chapter before I was adding the rest of the volumes in the series to my amazon wish list. Vaughan outdid himself with the dialog and Staples illustrations were absolutely breathtaking. I don’t really have anything negative to say about this graphic novel and because of that, it is a 5-heart read for me.

As a reader, you follow two star-crossed lovers in an outer space fantasy and the people who are contracted to find and eliminate them. One thing I thought Saga did well was not only did it establish a background with the main characters in a wonderful way but the background given to the secondary characters and how their pasts were presented literally just pushed this first installment into the Saga series over the top for me.

Basically, it is a series I highly recommend.

Worth mentioning, like in The Wicked and The Divine, there is a lot of adult content, almost to the extreme which might be a turn-off for some readers. There is strong language, gore, mentions of rape, nudity, a sex scene between two robots, and child sex trafficking. While these are sensitive topics, I did believe the author handled them well and only added them in to serve a purpose to realism. That being said, I would not suggest this graphic novel for any individual under the age of 16 or 17.

If this first volume of Saga sounds like something you might be interested in, do not hesitate like me and get this graphic novel because it will make your reading day.

Leave a Reply

