Summer in Review

Labor Day has come and gone in the United States and with that so has the end of summer. I’m not too upset about it, as it is still a solid 97 degrees here in South Carolina and won’t cool off for at least another month, but with the end of summer comes my favorite time of year.

Fall. ♥

Enough of my fangirling over seasons, though. I had an excellent summer, probably the best one I’ve had in years. I had a lot of milestones, some huge accomplishments, and I had a lot of fun. That being said let’s get into my summer in review.

Flew by Myself for the First Time

I think the last time I flew on an airplane I was 4 years old, needless to say, I remember none of it. Now at 22, I flew by myself for the first time and it was awesome! Scary, but totally awesome.

Presented Research in New Orleans

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

First let me say that New Orleans is a beautiful, wild, city filled with so many interesting things and people that my trip there was easily one of the best parts of my summer. I went to New Orleans to present research that I had done as an undergraduate and even won an award because of it! I stayed a few extra days to explore the city and went on ghost tours, ate beignets at Cafe Du Monde, and walked around to marvel at the beautiful Spanish Colonel architecture (pictures above!). Without a doubt, New Orleans stole my heart.

Graduated College

graduation

After I got back from New Orleans the semester was winding down and the time had finally come for me to walk across that stage to receive my undergraduate degree in psychology. Those 4 years were very long and very stressful, bit I did it and it was finally time to relax.

Learned How to Play the Ukulele

giphy13

As someone who already knows the basics of guitar and piano, I was itching to learn a new instrument. After perusing youtube I happened across a few YouTubers that were playing the ukulele (Dodie Clark, Ariel McCleary, Beth O’Riely), an instrument I had never really considered as something I would want to try and pursue. After watching them, and researching ukulele prices I was inspired. So as I had graduated and now had a lot of time on my hands I went and bought a ukulele with some of my graduation money and started the learning process. I’m still not very good, but I love playing!

Traveled Out of the Country for the First Time
♥The Dominican Republic♥

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Summer 2016 was definitely a summer of travel. My brother and I had both graduated (him high school, me college) and my dad and stepmom were gracious enough to give us the opportunity to travel to the Dominican Republic to celebrate. We stayed at the Majestic Colonial Resort in Punta Cana and we had an interesting time there. I fell off the airport shuttle and broke my toe and sprained my ankle, but they ran out of our standard room and upgraded us to a suite with a butler! His name was Rodney and he was a pretty awesome dude. I swear my luck is really weird sometimes. The DR is beautiful though and the resort we stayed at was incredible. If you ever have the chance to go I would highly recommend it.

Played a lot of Video Games

giphy14

 

I didn’t read as much as I would have liked to this summer, but in its place, I played a lot of video games. I recently bought an Xbox One and have been loving it. Some of my favorite games are Unraveled, Guitar Hero Live, and 7 Days to Die. I played a lot of the Sims 4 on my PC and of course, it wouldn’t be summer 2016 without a mention of Pokemon Go.

Started my New Job

giphy15

With the end of summer so does end my time for relaxation and I was on the hunt for a job. Thankfully I found one and it’s a pretty great one at that. Go Alexis.

Spent Time With the People I Love

giphy16

Honestly, the best part of my summer was just getting to hang out with my friends and family. They’re hilarious, loving, and kind and I wouldn’t be who I am today without them. And I certainly wouldn’t have had the amazing summer I did without them either.

For now summer, I bid you adieu and I’ll see you next year.

♥ Lex

2 thoughts on “Summer in Review

Leave a Reply

